Initiation into Mathematics 2013, Kerala
April 29 – May 11, 2013
Funded by the NBHM
Department of Mathematics, Sanatana Dharma College, Alappuzha

Initiation into Mathematics 2012, Kerala - Archives

Department of Mathematics, Government College, Ambalapuzha

Funded by the National Board for Higher Mathematics

Duration of the workshop: 30 April 2012 to 12 May 2012, all the days except Sunday, from 9:00AM to 5:00 PM


Welcome to the website of Initiation to Mathematics 2012, Kerala - a two-week long workshop in basic mathematics organized by the Department of Mathematics, Government College, Ambalapuzha.

This workshop is meant for B.Sc./Integrated M.Sc. students who are in 2nd year/4th semester of their academic programme in various institutions in South India (Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Pondicherry, Andhra Pradesh). Any such student with mathematics as one of their subjects may apply.

Kindly note that the majority of the selected students will be from Kerala due to our resource constraints. Students from other states will be considered only if they are ready to bear their travel expenses from their place to the programme venue. They may be reimbursed their TA only subject to the final availability of sufficient funds.

The topics which will be discussed in the workshop are Number Theory, Foundations of Set Theory, Real Analysis, and Linear Algebra.

As the workshop would run on the solid academic support of the prestigious Mathematics Training and Talent Search (MTTS) programme, it would take up and implement the meticulous teaching methodology of MTTS.

The participants will be paid sleeper class/2nd class train fare/ bus fare by the shortest route and will be provided free board and lodging for the duration of the programme.

The last date by which the filled applications should reach us is 31 March 2012. Application form can be downloaded from the links given to the right side of this page.

The workshop is set to welcome bright young minds to celebrate the excitement of mathematics and provide them an opportunity to realize it through interaction with dedicated and experienced minds in the field. With all reverence we dedicate this workshop in the National Mathematical Year 2012 as a salute to the great prodigy Srinivasa Ramanujan.

Download the Poster (PDF) or view it in JPG format

The workshop was be held during 30 April 2012 to 12 May 2012. It had a duration of 12 days (excluding sunday). There was a brief inaugural function on 30th morning, and a closing function on 12th afternoon. The certificates to the participants were distributed during the closing function.


The workshop was be held at the Government Women's Polytechnic College, Kayamkulam, Alappuzha.

Resource Persons

  • Prof. S Kumaresan
    University of Hyderabad
  • Prof. Jayanthan A J
    Goa University
  • Dr. Subrahmanyan Moosath K S
    IIST, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Dr. Vishnu Namboothiri K
    Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
  • Dr. Jijo S
    BJM Govt. College, Chavara

      List of participants

      Please see the list in this PDF file.

      Organizing Committee

      It consists of a set of people chosen from different institutes. The Principal Shri. Thulaseedharan Pillai of the Govt. College, Ambalapuzha is the Chairman, Vice-Principal of the College Dr. Subhassh C Kurup is the vice-chairman, Shri. M K Narayanan Nair (Associate Professor in Hindi) is the General Convenor, and Dr. Vishnu Namboothiri K (Asst. Prof. in Mathematics) is the Organizing Secretary.

      • Principal

        Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
      • Vice-Principal

        Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
      • Shri M K Narayanan Nair
        (General Convenor)

        Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
      • Dr. Vishnu Namboothiri K
        (Organizing Secretary)

        Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
      • Dr. Subramanian Moosath K S
        IIST, Thiruvananthapuram
      • Dr. Jijo S
        BJM Govt . College, Chavara
      • Shri. Vinod S
        Govt. College for Women, Thiruvananthapuram
      • Shri. Ashokkumar M G
        S D College, Alappuzha
      • Dr. Sheela K L
        Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
      • Shri. Ajaikumar A
        Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
      • Shri. Jayaraj R
        Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
      • Shri. Remesh Kumar M H
        Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
      • Shri. Syamkishor K S
        Govt. College, Ambalapuzha
      • Shri. Renjith Kumar Y
        MSM College, Kayamkulam
          A local organizing committee is also formed to locally co-ordinate the conduct of the workshop. It consists of the following members from the Government College, Ambalapuzha
          • Principal
          • Vice-Principal
          • Shri M K Narayanan Nair (Asso. Prof. in Hindi)
          • Dr. Vishnu Namboothiri K (Asst. Prof. in Mathematics)
          • Dr. Sheela K L (Asst. Prof. in Statistics)
          • Dr. Praveenkumar T K (Asst. Prof. in Physical Education)
          • Shri. Ajaikumar A (Asst. Prof. in Economics)
          • Shri. JayaraJ R (Asst. Prof. in Commerce)
          • Smt. Manju G (Asst. Prof. in Computer Science)
          • Shri. Alikutty C (Asst. Prof. in Malayalam)
          • Shri. Syamkishor K S (Asst. Prof. in Physics)
          • Shri. Suresh K (Asst. Prof. in Political Science)
          • Shri Ajit A (Head Accountant)
          • Shri. Arun M S (Chairman of the College Union)
          • Ms. Praseeda A P (Vice-Chairman of the College Union)
          • Shri. Dhaneesh K (General Secretary of the College Union)
          To take decisions in exigencies, an executive committee is also formed. It consists of the following members from the organizing committee:
          • Chairman
          • Vice-Chairman
          • General Convenor
          • Organizing Committee
          To publicise the event and to communicate various news related to the workshop to the media/public, a publicity committee is in place. It consists of the following members:
          • Dr. S Ajayakumar (Asst. Prof. in Malayalam, Sanatana Dharma College, Alappuzha) (Chairman)
          • Shri. Alikutty C (Asst. Prof. in Malayalam, Govt. College, Ambalapuzha)
          • Shri. Asokkumar MG (Asst. Prof. in Mathematics, Sanatana Dharma College, Alappuzha))

            Photo Gallery 2012

            Please click on the images to view a larger version.





            Moments from the first week of the workshop


            Krishnapuram Palace Visit


            Moments from the Second week of the workshop



             Page last modified on 25 May, 2013



What's New?
  • Thanks a lot to all the participants, resource persons, the college management, volunteers, and others who supported the workshop whole heartedly to make it a big success!
  • The list of participants can be found at this page.
[See all]

Request to Teachers

We are happy to inform you that the Department of Mathematics . . .

[Read More]


Workshop funded by
National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM)
Department of Atomic Energy
Government of India

Sanatana Dharma College
is an institute owned by Sanatana Dharma Vidyasala, a non-profit making institution in Alappuzha, Kerala, India